Uber and other rideshare companies give the public a convenient way to catch a ride while also giving car owners an easy way to make money off their personal vehicles.
But with all of this ease and convenience come some complicated questions. What if an Uber driver hit my car?
Or many Uber passengers might be wondering, What if my Uber driver gets in an accident and I get injured?
Fortunately, California law requires rideshare companies to cover the losses of a passenger injured in an Uber accident or rideshare accident.
People who suffer an injury at the hands of a rideshare driver deserve to be made whole.
The Law Office of Chuck Geerhart can help them recover maximum damages. Chuck Geerhart is a premier personal injury attorney in San Francisco.
He believes in personalized attention, and he enjoys putting his decades of trial experience to use in helping injured passengers get the compensation they need.
Injured in an Uber or Lyft Accident? Take Action Immediately
After suffering an injury in a rideshare accident, there are a number of steps an injured party needs to take to comply with the law and protect their right to recover damages:
- Call 911;
- Report the accident to the police;
- Get contact, car, and driver’s license information from the drivers involved;
- Get names and contact information from witnesses;
- Take pictures of the damages, injuries, and accident scene (if possible);
- Report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles (if there’s injury or more than $750 of damage); and
- Make a claim to the appropriate insurance company.
Injured rideshare passengers have access to some of this information before an accident occurs.
The rideshare company has to give passengers the rideshare driver’s first name and license plate number when they match for a ride.
The more information an injured party can collect, the better.
With the evidence they are given, the insurance company can determine who was at fault for the accident and make payments accordingly.
In Content Form
Victims in rideshare accidents don’t need to worry about whether a rideshare driver’s personal car insurance covers their needs (it probably doesn’t).
If a rideshare driver is at fault for someone’s injuries, the rideshare company owes the injured party money.
California law states that rideshare companies must carry $1,000,000 of insurance to cover damages caused by their drivers. This insurance needs to cover:
- Property damage,
- Personal injuries, and
Suppose another driver is at fault for an accident with a rideshare driver, and the other driver has insufficient insurance.
In that case, the rideshare company has to provide uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage for damages and injuries.
Contact a San Francisco Uber and Lyft Accident Lawyer Today
When someone is in an Uber or Lyft accident, they need to act quickly to protect their legal right to damages.
Unfortunately, moving fast can be an overwhelming challenge when dealing with the trauma of an injury.
The Law Office of Chuck Geerhart can protect and maximize an injured party’s legal recovery.
Chuck Geerhart has over 30 years of experience, and he knows how his opponent thinks in personal injury cases.
He also gives his clients the personal attention necessary to address their unique needs.
Each accident is different, and Chuck works hard to get his clients exceptional results tailored to their specific circumstances.
Call 415-577-4992 or contact us online for a free consultation.